cocktail table love…

How’s your relationship with your coffee table…er….cocktail table (pssst…that’s what they’re being called now)? Love it? Sick of it?

There’s nothing like an interesting table to set the tone for an entire room.  I’ve learned a few things about cocktail tables: (1) Make sure the table isn’t much higher than your seating, otherwise it will look odd and out of sync with everything else. (2) A mirrored-top table can’t be beat, in my humble opinion. They’re just so fabulous for reflecting candlelight, flowers and decorative pieces (and you’ll spot that spinach in your teeth lickity-split).  (3) keep the scale of your furniture and the structural elements in the room in mind when you choose a table. Don’t fall for that precious little number with waif-thin legs if your sofa is huge and you’ve got cathedral ceilings and  a gothic fireplace–like the Bat Cave.

Here are a few that I think stand on their own (wow…now that’s one four-legged pun)! Maybe I’ll get one for Mother’s Day…doubt it!

photo by Jean Randazzo for Kishani Perera

Forget the table…I want the ENTIRE room. I love Kishani Perera‘s designs. You should take a look at her fabulous portfolio and DROOOOOL!!!!

photo by Jean Randazzo for Kishani Perera

The wall treatment and chairs aren’t my cup of tea, but I think the tables are fabulous. I can see them working in lots of designs.

photo by Usona via Houzz

I think this table is tres chic n’est-ce pas? It’s a coffee table with built-in gas fireplace. I love it. Is that a pool? I’m in! Packing my bags right now…gotta go!

photo courtesyPlanika Fires

This is such a great cocktail table. It can be dressed up or down according to your lifestyle. A friend of mine has one like this, and she always uses a massive reclaimed wood tray to serve cocktails and appetizers. It’s always so inviting. I’m lovin’ the quilted lacquer side table by the chair too.

photo courtesy Elle Decor

Love it or hate it, you can’t deny it sets the tone in the room. I personally love it ’cause it speaks volumes about the homeowners–they’re not afraid to be different, they don’t take themselves too seriously, they’re creative and bold. Oh…yeah…and it PINK!!!!! Swooooon.

photo courtesy House & Home

Remember: If you want to visit any of the sites, just click on the pictures 🙂

4 responses

  1. Of late my husband and I have become obsessed with HGTV. We will watch most any program on there.

    Love the first photo

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention cocktail table love…: How’s your relationship with your coffee table…er….cocktail table… -- Topsy.com

  3. I’m loving that over-stuffed coffee table. It’s inspiring me to head to the antique market and find me one to fix up. The markets in Madrid are so full of treasure waiting to be discovered!

Leave a comment

sachensucherin

looking for the pretty things in life

grillfusion

a creative blend of gardening, grilling, photography & design

The Amazing Grace Project

A G Portraits By Donna Jones

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

Dormouse Tidings

My travel blog

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France and Europe www.walk-bike-camino.com

the paper kind

creative living

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

Colored Brush

adventures in contemporary art

lth0ms0n

The paranoid ramblings of a neurotic twenty-something

Sue Bryce

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Rob Moses Photography

This Camera Life

Pretty Forum

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Click Community Blog: Helping you take better pictures one day at a time

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

whiskeytangofoxtrot4

wtf4?~ it's all about a girl and her camera and that golden light

Kinh Nghiệm Leo Núi shutterbean/wrTr

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Love that Shot

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

The Design Pages

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Hazy Shades of Me

Mere moments of clarity are all I can promise...