Kitchen Garden Revival

Pioneer kitchen gardens intrigue me! When I mentioned that to my flinty 78-year-old mother last night, she nearly fell off her chair laughing and said that in her day, they just called them vegetable gardens! LOL. She’s got a point. Sometimes we try to make stuff sound too precious these days. Sigh.

pioneer kitchen garden green tomatoes

Anyhoo…today I visited The Stewart Farmhouse‘s “From Field to Table: The Pioneer Kitchen Garden Revival” exhibit in South Surrey, BC, with one of my besties, Richelle Lukacin. She’s responsible for my renewed interest in vegetable gardening and she thought it would be good for us to learn more about farming for the dinner table.

Richelle Lukacin AKA: best veggie gardener in the neighbourhood!

I was quite surprised with how many vegetables and flowers are still thriving in the gardens at the farmhouse. It’s the second week in October, and my own garden looks like the Haunted Mansion (sans the mansion part), but this garden is still all green and colourful. Hmmm…maybe I shouldn’t have stopped watering everything on August 31!!!

purple mums in garden

sweet peas

Kitchen gardens appeal to me because I’m tired of spending hundreds of dollars every year on produce that comes from places far from home. I’m not being protectionist, I’m just a fan of fresh homegrown veggies and fruit. It’s really satisfying to plant seeds, nurture the growing plants, and finally serve up the garden delights at meals.

The draw comes from knowing where our food is coming from; knowing it has been grown with love; knowing it’s not full of pesticides; and, knowing our carbon footprint is a just a wee bit smaller. I’m not creazy enough to say I want to forgo produce sections at my local grocery store ’cause I know how unrealistic that is–don’t post on Facebook that you saw me buying an onion at Safeway! I’m just saying that I’m going to try to be a little more self-sustaining. That’s all 🙂

scarlet runner beans

apple orchard

garden turnip

I couldn’t get very many good pictures from the indoor exhibit due to the lighting, but I got a fuzzy shot of this kitchen advice. It’s true…waste an hour in the morning and you do chase it all day!!! Oh yeah…and apparently I’ve been ruining stews all these years.

pioneer kitchen advice

egg basket

Happy Day 🙂

2 responses

Leave a Reply

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

sachensucherin

looking for the pretty things in life

grillfusion

a creative blend of gardening, grilling, photography & design

The Amazing Grace Project

A G Portraits By Donna Jones

Photo Shopping

Photography - Videography- Graphic design

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

Dormouse Tidings

My travel blog

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

KayMyl

Software Services

bluchickenninja

graphic designer // bibliophile // geek

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

Colored Brush

adventures in contemporary art

lth0ms0n

The paranoid ramblings of a neurotic twenty-something

True Tiger Recordings

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Rob Moses Photography

This Camera Life

Pretty Forum

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Clickin Moms

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Tracey Ayton Photography

Home, Garden & Lifestyle

whiskeytangofoxtrot4

wtf4?~ it's all about a girl and her camera and that golden light

Shutterbean

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Love that Shot™

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

The Design Pages

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Unskinny Boppy

DIY, Home Decor and Interior Design Blog based in Birmingham, Alabama

