new age nesting…

When my children were born, I was not…how shall I put it…decor enlightened. My little lovelies, Sam and Jane, were lucky to get a few stars and clouds sponged on to their baby-blue walls (they shared a room in our little cottage). I was a little preoccupied with the rigors of motherhood and the blur of the first few years to even know what I didn’t know!

So now, when I come across children’s furnishings and decor, I find myself experiencing pangs of guilt about missed opportunities and neglect–then I snap out of it and remember that I’m not interested in taking out a mortgage just to redecorate their rooms! There are days, though, when I would happily bribe them with the prospect of flat-screen TVs and bar fridges just to get them to keep wet towels, empty cups and dirty socks off the floors.

For those of you who have your act together way more than me, here are some beautiful nesting ideas. If they aren’t your cup of tea, perhaps there’s a color combination, a display arrangement, or an organizational idea you like.

I think the bull’s-eye hooks are so cool (OMG, Mom, nobody actually says that). I can see them working in a child’s bedroom too. (photographer: Rachael Smith via Gap Interiors)

I came across Little Nest , an Australian company that designs kid versions of classic designer chairs and furniture. This is for the uber-junior-fashionista!

photo from Little Nest

courtesy of Little Nest

I never would have considered chartreuse (kinda sorta) and lilac. It’s such a fresh design The bumper pads on the bunk-bed rail are practical and fun at the same time.

courtesy of Style at Home

The next three rooms are featured on HGTV.com. This coquetish little room is for zee really girly-girl (lame attempt at a French accent).

courtesy HGTV

I know some grown-up girls who’d luuuuuvvvvv this room.

courtesy HGTV

The wood-panelled porthole shelf gives this room the perfect edge. It will help transition the room from preschool to high-school. See those little orange armchairs and ottoman? I want the grown-up version in my living room!!!

courtesy HGTV

I like that they used a narrow striped paint treatment instead of crown moulding in this sweet little room. The pom-pom chandelier is the icing on the cake!

courtesy HGTV

I can see where this is going…I’m going to be one of those over-the-top grandmas who insists on meddling in the room designs for each of her grand-babies (in another 50 years or so…’cause I’m that young).

8 responses

  1. Love the rooms. Colorful rooms inspire children to become inspired adults…that’s my own opionion.

    Speaking of kids and nest. There’s this great resto near Commercial Drive in Vancouver called Little Nest. A great place to take your kids for lunch or brunch. http://www.littlenest.ca, enjoy.

  2. Love these rooms! Colorful rooms inspire kids to become color-filled inspired adults…that’s my opinion anyways 😉

    Speaking of kids and nests. There’s this great little place that we used to take my stepson to, just off Commercial Drive in Vancouver, called Little Nest. Such a fun place…enjoy.

  3. Don’t feel too bad,I did the whole nursery decor thing with our first daughter but by the time #2 arrived (just after moving into a new house) I grabbed some decals and slapped them on the walls……room done!!

    These were some great pics, thanks for the inspiration.

  4. HI Jen,
    I have a boy with the sports jacket… black… pin striped shirt…converse runners… and we mustn’t forget the white sunglasses.. that he insists work well day or night… drives us all crazy..He would love a chair for teens in his room so his friends can play X-box with him on his flat screen TV..
    I will send you a picture of his newly decorated room…

  5. Pingback: An Italian Lifestyle Project | Italy All

Leave a Reply

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

sachensucherin

looking for the pretty things in life

grillfusion

a creative blend of gardening, grilling, photography & design

The Amazing Grace Project

A G Portraits By Donna Jones

Photo Shopping

Photography - Videography- Graphic design

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

Dormouse Tidings

My travel blog

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

KayMyl

Software Services

bluchickenninja.com

graphic designer, bibliophile, spoonie

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

Colored Brush

adventures in contemporary art

lth0ms0n

The paranoid ramblings of a neurotic twenty-something

True Tiger Recordings

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Rob Moses Photography

This Camera Life

Pretty Forum

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Clickin Moms

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Tracey Ayton Photography

Home, Garden & Lifestyle

whiskeytangofoxtrot4

wtf4?~ it's all about a girl and her camera and that golden light

Shutterbean

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Love that Shotâ„¢

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

The Design Pages

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Unskinny Boppy

DIY, Home Decor and Interior Design Blog based in Birmingham, Alabama

