paper and ink…

photo courtesy of Pink Dot Press

Do you remember the thrill you got years and years ago when a crinkly airmail envelope with blue and red striped trim arrived in the mail, or a tacky postcard from a pal on summer vacation? I used to LOVE getting mail, but the only mail I get these days is mind-numbingly boring (bills, flyers, pizza menus).

I was thinking about the lost art of letter writing and recalling how much I used to enjoy having personalized stationery (that was before kids, house, dogs, laundry…when clocks were a lot slower). There’s nothing quite like a good pen, a thick piece of luxurious cotton paper, and the perfect words–it’s just so Oprah!

When I was studying graphic design, I took a typography course and the instructor toured us through an amazing letterpress printing room with cabinets full of old letterpress blocks–it was absolutely fascinating. I’ve been a fan ever since. With the advent of digital printing, letterpress was put on the back shelf, but thanks to a lot of very creative people, there is a groundswell of wonderful products out there. Here are some of the intriguing images I found on my hunt for letterpress artists–I hope they inspire you to pick up a pen and write.

photo courtesy of Elum Designs

!

photo courtesy of Sunlit Letterpress Printing

photo courtesy of Paper Shop Ink

photo courtesy of Prologue Press

photo courtesy of Pink Dot Press

photo courtesy of Modus Press

photo coutesy of Dolce Press

photo courtesy of Design Sponge

6 responses

  1. I love letter press! My husband works on his friend’s ancient press often. I still write notes…it’s so relaxing to sit and jot a few words down. Much more calming than sitting in the bluish glow of a computer screen! I love the collection you’ve shown here in this post.
    Have a great day!

    • Hi Janis…do you know any good letterpress houses in Vancouver? BTW…after all my griping…I’m actually getting a teensy excited about the Olympics. I actually went out and bought one of those tacky car window flags…but it is for the Canadian hockey team!

  2. Yes! I LOVE letterpress. There’s something so delicate and soulful about having each word and image pressed into an exquisite stock.

  3. I would love to get some personalized stationary, We need to introduce more of the more elegant elements back into our lives.

Leave a Reply

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

sachensucherin

looking for the pretty things in life

grillfusion

a creative blend of gardening, grilling, photography & design

The Amazing Grace Project

A G Portraits By Donna Jones

Photo Shopping

Photography - Videography- Graphic design

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

Dormouse Tidings

My travel blog

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

KayMyl

Software Services

bluchickenninja

graphic designer // bibliophile // geek

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

Colored Brush

adventures in contemporary art

lth0ms0n

The paranoid ramblings of a neurotic twenty-something

True Tiger Recordings

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Rob Moses Photography

This Camera Life

Pretty Forum

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Clickin Moms

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Tracey Ayton Photography

Home, Garden & Lifestyle

whiskeytangofoxtrot4

wtf4?~ it's all about a girl and her camera and that golden light

Shutterbean

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Love that Shot™

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

The Design Pages

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Unskinny Boppy

DIY, Home Decor and Interior Design Blog based in Birmingham, Alabama

