couldn't put it down…

photo courtesy of Metropolitan Hom

Time for the book review on Michael Lassell‘s Metroplitan Home Glamour: Making it Modern. I LOVE it! I don’t think I’ll ever be “finished” this book. I’ll probably grab it every time I sit in my living room with a cup of coffee, and I’ll drool over the pages again and again.

photo courtesy of Metropolitan Home

Lassell does a wonderful job of discussing the concept of glamour and all the design elements that shape it. In my opinio, the most important point he makes it that price does not determine glamour–just because you spend $10,000 on a new couch doesn’t mean you’ll end up with a glamorous room (Betcha I could. Quick…somebody gimmee $10K!). He quotes many designers who share their ideas on glamour. I particularly liked Johnathan Adler‘s advice, “A room must have wit to be glamorous. Any design that seems over-considered or over-serious ain’t glamorous.”

photo courtesy of Metropolitan Home

This book made me open my mind to the possibilities of glamour. It’s not about designing rooms that are too-beautiful-to-sit-down-in. There are probably six billion ways to achieve glamour, but there seems to be a common thread in Lassell’s book…each room takes your breath away for a a second or two. As Adler says, there is “wit”,something unexpected in glamorous room.

A good example is the bathroom with an ebony-paneled bathtub and vanity combined with an upholstered chair, normally associated with living rooms. There’s a stunning ornate ruby-red Murano-glass chandelier and stylized words of inspiration painted on the putty-grey walls of a traditional Craftsman bungalow–unexpected. Or what about a massive mirrored four-poster bed with an orange laquered bedside table–catching my breath just thinking about it.

photo courtesy of Metropolitan Home

I give Glamour: Making it Modern a big thumbs up. Trust me, it might be dog-eared, but you’ll still enjoy it ten years from now.

7 responses

  1. I love, love, love that bold, pink wall! Together with the black, silver, and mirrored accents, it just screams glamour to me. Too bad I’ll never be brave to paint any of my walls that color! I’ve never been a fan of all white (like in the picture above) – it always makes me feel like I’m sitting in an igloo.

    • Hi Kara…I love the pink, silver, black & mirror too! I was thinking of painting my main floor in shades of grey, but I’m starting to think about a warm chalky white instead. I’ve got a lot of accessory action going on in my home, so white would be a great backdrop. It will also give me a chance to use a pop of color on a feature wall in my entrance (it’s small enough that I could paint it different colors throughout the year–yipppeee). It sounds like a hot pink wall would make you smile…go for it.

  2. I love the comment by Kara – all white makes her feel like she’s sitting in an igloo! too funny. It can feel that way, but I’m starting to lean towards that look. As long as I have colour in accessories, I think I’d be ok with it.
    Met Home was always a great magazine, so I’m looking forward to checking out this book.

    • Hi Janis…As you know, I’m a pale redhead, so “igloo” appeals to me. I’m leaning that way too. My accessories are always changing, so a beautiful white background would set them off perfectly.

Leave a Reply

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

sachensucherin

looking for the pretty things in life

grillfusion

a creative blend of gardening, grilling, photography & design

The Amazing Grace Project

A G Portraits By Donna Jones

Photo Shopping

Photography - Videography- Graphic design

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

Dormouse Tidings

My travel blog

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

KayMyl

Software Services

bluchickenninja.com

graphic designer, bibliophile, spoonie

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

Colored Brush

adventures in contemporary art

lth0ms0n

The paranoid ramblings of a neurotic twenty-something

True Tiger Recordings

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Rob Moses Photography

This Camera Life

Pretty Forum

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Clickin Moms

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Tracey Ayton Photography

Home, Garden & Lifestyle

whiskeytangofoxtrot4

wtf4?~ it's all about a girl and her camera and that golden light

Shutterbean

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Love that Shot™

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

The Design Pages

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Unskinny Boppy

DIY, Home Decor and Interior Design Blog based in Birmingham, Alabama

