inky indigo…

I’m seeing hints of indigo (the color, not the store) these days. It’s that divinely inky-almost-black blue. The lantern caught my eye, and then I was drawn in to the whole vignette. I’m a big fan of lanterns. They add such intrigue to any setting, no matter what the season. We sit out on our verandah surrounded by lanterns on summer evenings. In the winter, when we have dinner parties, I make sure there are lanterns on the front stairs and flanking the door to welcome our guests. Just in case there aren’t enough lanterns hanging around our place, I’ve got one in the main bathroom, and it’s lit every time anyone takes a long soak in the tub!

As for this vignette…I have one teensy suggestion…the silver horse head that Nicole Jane Home carries would look WAY more fabulous than the nag they used. Someone call up Elle Decor magazine for me, and tell them that (they might recognize my number on call display)!

photo courtesy of Elle Decor Magazine Jan/Feb 2010 issue

Nicole Jane Home's silver horse head statue

Huh…huh…see what I mean? Way more FABULOUS!!!

5 responses

  1. I really liked the whole vignette (the chair, actually, is what caught my eyes) until I got to the horse head. It turned me off, and then I looked at your silver/aluminum one – while I’m still not over the moon about it, it is a definite improvement. Are horse heads really a big thing outside of western decor? My mom has one in her living room, but she’s gone with a Western theme and, to be honest, it creeps me out when I sneak to the kitchen for a glass of water.

    The lantern is great! Indigo has been the color of my home office/guest room for over a year – it’s just such a great blue because you can do many things with it. We started with a nautical theme and, when I fell out of love with it, it didn’t take much to change it into something different without changing the “core” elements.

    I love your blog, by the way, though I shouldn’t look at the food pictures when I’m hungry !

    • Hi Kara. I’m so glad you love the blog–my mouth is still watering over the cheese dumplings and stew photo! I was thinking about your question, and I really think the horse head could fit in with any decor. I can see it in a shabby chic room–combined with sliipcovers and roses, the silver softens the horse and makes it a little more playful. I can just as easily see it in a modern decor–again, the finish gives it an edge in that kind of decor. You definitely don’t need to go western, if that’s not your thing. My silver stag heads are super popular, and I know that people put them in anything from ultra modern lofts to bungalow kitchens.

  2. The chair in the first picture is beautiful. If only I had a house that I could have that fit into.
    I have a condo and it isn’t too big.

  3. Ok – the cheese dumplings are good although suet? SUET?? Who uses that?? I have to say I agree with Kara. The horse is off. It just isn’t a good sculpture. I totally want one for my space, but neither of these are good renditions of the grace and power that my equine friends possess.

Leave a Reply

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

sachensucherin

looking for the pretty things in life

grillfusion

a creative blend of gardening, grilling, photography & design

The Amazing Grace Project

A G Portraits By Donna Jones

Photo Shopping

Photography - Videography- Graphic design

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

Dormouse Tidings

My travel blog

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

KayMyl

Software Services

bluchickenninja.com

graphic designer, bibliophile, spoonie

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

Colored Brush

adventures in contemporary art

lth0ms0n

The paranoid ramblings of a neurotic twenty-something

True Tiger Recordings

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Rob Moses Photography

This Camera Life

Pretty Forum

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Clickin Moms

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Tracey Ayton Photography

Home, Garden & Lifestyle

whiskeytangofoxtrot4

wtf4?~ it's all about a girl and her camera and that golden light

Shutterbean

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Love that Shot™

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

The Design Pages

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Unskinny Boppy

DIY, Home Decor and Interior Design Blog based in Birmingham, Alabama

