Just look at those drapes…

Okay, okay…so it’s a lame attempt to justify this image in a decor blog. I just happen to be a sucker for anything wedding. Every time I pass a wedding dress boutique, I stop and drool. It’s not that I want to wear the gowns, I just think that some of them are works of art. You mark my words…there will come a time when the hottest trend in room decor is a dressmaker’s form adorned by a gorgeous gown. I found this dreamy photo at Utterly Engaged.

photo by Elizabeth Messina

5 responses

  1. I must take pause to disagree with your comment that says

    “…it’s a lame attempt to justify this image in a decor blog…”

    I believe it could be a wonderful and creative artistic focal point in a room; and if it happened to be your wedding dress too, all the better. Now maybe that room shouldn’t be a master bedroom as most men would protest but in a woman’s private office space or your daughter’s pretty as a princess dream bedroom… why not? Better yet, for the lucky home owner who has his & her baths and dressing rooms, it could be a very decadent touch that is reminiscent of the lavish private dressing room as featured in the Sophia Coppola movie, “Marie Antoinette” – utterly divine!

    As with every creative project (whether that project be interior design, fashion, etc.) you always need to start with some inspiration! With that in mind, I hope you continue to add new photos and blogs about other “inspirational” objects you encounter. It just may spark somebody to create a masterpiece!

    Cheers!
    Debbie

  2. Actually, my best friend found a form at an estate sale and picked it up on a lark. One afternoon we were putting old dresses from her grandmother’s closet on the form and found this old, floaty, pastel floral-print dress. We put it on, laughed at how impossibly thin her grandmother had been, and went out for drinks. She left the dress and the form set up in a corner of her bedroom, woke up the next morning, and decided she really liked the way it went with her decor. It’s been there for three years now and always gets the most comments when anyone gets “the grand tour.” I think the trick is finding the perfect dress – nothing “new” or “modern” would look quite right.

  3. I think that the dress form idea could be used with a modern look too.
    It could be terrific incentive to torque up the exercise and tone down the eating in order to keep a goal in mind. I’m not saying “buy a size 6 and put in on a form and then torture yourself with guilt until you give up and fall into self loathing”. I think it could serve to remind a woman that schlepping around in one’s sweats and tees might not be the look she wants to live in.
    That said, in terms of creating romance in a room the antique dress with tulle would be a beautiful look reminiscent of the power of femininity. The right form and the right dress would be quite a find.
    Dori

  4. You’re all inspiring me to find me a dressmakers form!!! I’m going on a “fieldtrip” on Tuesday with my design muse, Kim, and I think I’ll look for one.

Leave a Reply

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

sachensucherin

looking for the pretty things in life

grillfusion

a creative blend of gardening, grilling, photography & design

The Amazing Grace Project

A G Portraits By Donna Jones

Photo Shopping

Photography - Videography- Graphic design

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

Dormouse Tidings

My travel blog

ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES

Walk and Bike in France. www.icietlanature.com

KayMyl

Software Services

bluchickenninja

graphic designer // bibliophile // geek

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

Colored Brush

adventures in contemporary art

lth0ms0n

The paranoid ramblings of a neurotic twenty-something

True Tiger Recordings

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Rob Moses Photography

This Camera Life

Pretty Forum

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Clickin Moms

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Tracey Ayton Photography

Home, Garden & Lifestyle

whiskeytangofoxtrot4

wtf4?~ it's all about a girl and her camera and that golden light

Shutterbean

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Love that Shotâ„¢

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

The Design Pages

the caffeine-induced musings of Jennifer Findlay

Unskinny Boppy

DIY, Home Decor and Interior Design Blog based in Birmingham, Alabama

